The ASAA/First National Bank Alaska Volleyball State Championship starts Thursday in Anchorage. 

Northern Lights Conference champion Colony opens against Cook Inlet Conference runner-up West Anchorage at 11:45 a.m. at the Alaska Airlines Center. 

NLC runner-up Wasilla drew CIC champion Dimond at 1:30 p.m., while Palmer, the NLC’s No. 3 seed, opens with Southeast Conference champion Thunder Mountain at 3:15 p.m. 

The other quarterfinal match pits Mid Alaska champion North Pole against CIC No. 3 South Anchorage at 10 a.m. 

The championship match of the double-elimination tournament is 5 p.m. Saturday. 

In the 3A tournament, Valdez plays Homer (10 a.m.), Bethel battles Seward (11:45 a.m.), Sitka takes on Nome (1:30 p.m.) and Kenai plays Monroe Catholic (3:15 p.m.). 

The 3A championship game is 2 p.m. Saturday. 

South is the defending 4A champion, while Homer is the defending 3A champion. Both schools won in 2019. Due to the pandemic, there was not a tournament in 2020. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.