Mike Haymaker had a good excuse for not showing up for work over Labor Day weekend.

He was busy securing his first Kodiak Island Golf Championship title.

“I’m supposed to be at work right now, but I think this might be a saving grace,” said Haymaker from the clubhouse of the Bear Valley Golf Course Sunday afternoon. “I’m definitely in trouble.”

Haymaker, a crewmember on the F/V Icy Mist, stayed out of trouble for the most part on a drizzly Sunday to hold off eight other golfers in the men’s championship flight field of the 26th Kodiak Island Golf Championship.

He carded a two-day, 36-hole total of 160 to finish four strokes ahead of last year’s champion Brett Larsen.

“It means a lot,” Haymaker said. “It has been over 10 years trying to chase these guys. I love the game. It is a thrill for me.”

Haymaker fired a four-over-par 76 on Saturday to take a one-shot lead over Larsen into Sunday’s final round.

While other golfers in contention struggled with the rain, Haymaker made just enough shots to win his first jacket — the prize for winning the Island Golf Championship. He shot an 84 on Sunday.

He credited his opening 76 to the key to his victory.

“That helped a lot because I didn’t follow it up today (Sunday) like I did yesterday. I was lucky. The golf gods were good to me.”

Larsen was poised to make a run for his second consecutive title after carding a 39 on Sunday’s front nine to take a one-shot lead over Haymaker.

The back nine wasn’t so kind to Larsen as he started with two triple-bogeys on the first three holes to fall out of contention.

Haymaker took the lead on the 11th — second hole — with a birdie and never trailed the rest of the way.

John Sullivan took third with a tiebreaker win over Rich Edwards, who recorded the low round on Sunday with an 81. Both golfers finished with a 165.

Kriss Larsen won her second women’s title with a 176 — four strokes better than her winning total from last year.

She fired a 94 on the first day, and bounced back with an 82 on Sunday.

Larsen was the only woman entered in this year’s tournament. Her score would have beaten 19 of the 27 men in the field.

Alan Skaw won the men’s first flight with a 175, while Matt Bell took the second flight with a 182.

Eric Beattie, who finished second in the men’s second flight, recorded the only eagle of the tournament on the par-5, eighth-hole.

Contact Mirror writer Derek Clarkston at sports@kodiakdailymirror.com.



Championship flight

1. Kriss Larsen, 176.


Championship flight

1. Mike Haymaker, 160; 2. Brett Larsen, 164; 3. John Sullivan, 165; 4. Rich Edwards, 165; 5. Dustin Roberson, 172; 6. Mingi Yu, 177; 7. Peter Allan, 179; 8. Chuck Martin, 180.

First flight

1. Alan Skaw, 175; 2. Carl McLaughlin, 176; 3. Randy Ensign, 178; 4. Jim Peterson, 179; 5. Sam Manivong, 179; 6. Jason Bang, 182; 7. Guy Hughey, 183; 8. Terry Nap, 187; 9. Jerry LaFollette, 188; 10. Jim Kennedy, 188; 11. Lee, 204.

Second flight

1. Matt Bell, 182; 2. Eric Beattie, 186; 3. Kevin Creelman, 189; 4. Steve O’Brien, 198; 5. John Kennedy, 203; 6. Tom Trosvig, 204; 7. John Shank, 206; 8. Aarseth, 242.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.