Patrick McMahon led Colony to an undefeated Northern Lights Conference record this past season. 

Last week, the junior — known for highlight reel dunks — was named the Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches 4A boys player of the year. 

“Since he was a freshman he’s made unbelievable leaps in his game,” Colony coach Tom Berg told The Frontiersman. “He’s worked so hard to develop into a really good basketball player.” 

McMahon — the son of former Kodiak athlete Mary Fulp and grandson of former Kodiak residents Ian and Judy Fulp — went for 16 and 25 points against Kodiak. Even though he is known for his offense, Berg told The Frontiersman that McMahon has improved on defense. 

“Defensively he decided to make an impact this year,” Berg said. “From sophomore to junior year, on both sides of the floor, he decided to go make plays.” 

Colony won the NLC regular-season crown with an 8-0 record. 

Chugiak’s Chasity Horn was tabbed the 4A girls player of the year. 

At the 3A level, Valdez Jalen Freeman was named the boys player of the year, while Acnhorage Christian’s Destiny Reimers earned the girls honor.

Cordova’s Christian Adams earned the 2A boys player of the year award, while Metlekatla Alexis Russell was the girls winner. 

The 1A awards went to Shishmaref’s Edward Kokeok and King Cove’s Eliana Mack. 

Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches

All-State Teams

4A Boys

Player of the Year: Patrick McMahon, Colony

Coach of the Year: Colton Growden, West Valley

First team: Patrick McMahon, Colony; Hassan Harrington, East; Chris Lee, Ketchikan; Isaiah Moses, Dimond; Colton Spencer, Colony.

Second team: Dylan Erhart, West Valley; Reece Ivanoff, South; Brayden Maldonado, East; Terrell Peter, West Valley; Jersey Truesdell, Soldotna.

Third team: Luke Devine, Wasilla; Bryson Echiverri, Thunder Mountain; Jeremiah Hersrud, Colony; Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau; Bishop Tosi, Bartlett.

4A Girls

Player of the Year: Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Coach of the Year: Charlie Engel, West

First team: Chasity Horn, Chugiak; Kendyl Carson, Juneau; Bella Hays, Wasilla; Ella Roberts, Lathrop; Ameila Uhila, Bartlett.

Second team: Indiya Clarke, Colony; Ah’KayZee Galloway-Davis, West; Angelline Nageak, Dimond; TT Tagovailoa, Lathrop; Ituau Tuisaula, Soldotna.

Third team: Sheridan Blasey, West Valley; Mikayla Johnson, Eagle River; Jazlynn Novelli, Wasilla; Tori Schwantes, Colony; Lily Weimann, South.

3A Boys

Player of the Year: Jalen Freeman, Valdez

Coach of the Year: Al Plan, Seward

First team: Jalen Freeman, Valdez; Malachi Bradley, Monroe; Brendon Matthews, Barrow; Quinn McHenry, Monroe; Jason Montes, Delta.

Second team: Andrew Beck, Grace; Christian Bolton, Eielson; Anthony Fruean, Barrow; Daekwon Houston, ACS; Kayden Lamebull, Grace.

Third team: Jamin Crow, Bethel; Deion Frank, Hutch; Nathan Ivanoff, Grace; Jace McCullough, Monroe; Connor Spanos, Seward.

3A Girls

Player of the Year: Destiny Reimers, Anchorage Christian

Coach of the Year: David Wightman, Galena

First team: Destiny Reimers, ACS; Lillian Carstens, Nikiski; Pearle Green, Galena; Mykaila Pickard, ACS; Sayvia Sellers, ACS.

Second team: Katie Best, Monroe; Tessa Binder, Grace; Jenilee Donovan, Barrow; Katelyn Kaleak, Barrow; Sunny Pedebone, ACS.

Third team: Tiffany Elefante, Sitka; Abbie Fuller, Redington; Adam Kaganak, Galena; Laveah Makisi, Kotzebue; Lisa Okboak, Nome.

2A Boys

Player of the Year: Christian Adams, Cordova

Coach of the Year: Teddy Frankson, Tikigaq

First team: Christian Adams, Cordova; Jalen Cannon, Tikigaq; Thomas Durkin, Petersburg; Kirby Faverty, Haines; Henry Kowunna, Tikigaq.

Second team: Elijah Casperson, Metlakatla; Mark Davis, Haines; Kaiden Graves, Cordova; Gabe Jones, Glennallen; Brayden Larson, Petersburg.

Third team: Jamison Fields, Glennallen; Mike Haugen, Unalakleet; Colton Hayward, Metlakatla; Devin Spears, Glennallen; Trevor Miller, Wrangell.

2A Girls

Player of the Year: Alexis Russell, Metlekatla

Coach of the Year: Lindsey Layland, Dillingham

First team: Alexis Russell, Metlekatla; Kaylin Easterly, Wrangell; Angela Lane, Tikigaq; Hailey Wilson, Unalaska; Jewel Wilson, Unalakleet.

Second team: Ashley Agwiak, Nenana; Kenna Grenier, Susitna Valley; Ines Larson, Petersburg; Mary Long, Hooper Bay; Kayla Vilamor, Unalaska.

Third team: Reagen Finkenbinder, Dillingham; Kallyn Haugen, Unalakleet; Rayna Peterson, Nenana; Kalli Simbahon, Petersburg; Abbey Whitcomb, Dillingham.

1A Boys

Player of the Year: Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref

Coach of the Year: Mark Gunkel, Thorne Bay

First team: Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref; Daniel Bennett, Lumen Christi; Jacob Congdon, Thorne Bay; Jesse Starnes, Sand Point; Seth Turenne, Minto.

Second team: Jaden Hadley, Noorvik; Lukah Kalugin, Nikolaevsk; Amos Sage, Noatak; Joel Swanberg, Birchwood Christian; Kenneth Walton, Noatak.

Third team: Jaren Black, Manokotak; Ben Botero, Ninilchik; Brendon Gregory, Lumen Christi; Benjamin Homekingkeo, Koyuk; Jaren Tinker, Aleknagik.

1A Girls

Player of the Year: Elaina Mack, King Cove

Coach of the Year: Gary Lamar, King Cove

First team: Elaina Mack, King Cove; Jalaya Duarte, King Cove; Elizabeth Fefelov, Nikolaevsk; Sonja Ningulook, Shishmaref; Markiana Yakunin, Nikolaevsk.

Second team: Sophia Klaich, Nikolaevsk; Haley Sielak, Alak; Tanya Marvin-Looney, Klawock; Johnna Nanalook, Newhalen; Sadie Newman, King Cove.

Third team: Lindsey Homberg, Sand Point; Tera Phillips, Alak; Katelyn Johnson, Port Alsworth; Allyson Takak, Shaktoolik; Elsa Tinker, Kongiganak.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.