Kodiak girls basketball coach Amy Fogle watches a play from the sideline during a game against Wasilla on Saturday, March 1 at KHS. (Derek Clarkston photo)

Both of Kodiak High School’s head basketball coaches received major awards over the weekend.

Boys coach David Anderson and girls coach Amy Fogle were both named 4A Coach of the Year on the Alaska Roof Coatings/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches all-state basketball teams, released Saturday.

In his fourth season, Anderson led Kodiak (16-9) to its first Northern Lights Conference boys crown since 2001 and its first state tournament appearance since 2011.

In her first season back with the girls, Fogle guided Kodiak to its first NLC girls title since 1985 and a perfect regular-season record of 24-0.

Seniors Hannah Wandersee and Jerica Nelson were both placed on the 4A girls first team, while senior Megan Pyles earned third-team honors.

Wandersee, who scored her 1,000th career point this season, led the team during the regular season with 14.5 points per game, while Nelson averaged 11.4 points per game.

Senior Austin Frick and sophomore Alec Canete-Hall both were placed on the 4A boys second team.

Canete-Hall led Kodiak with 16.2 points per game, while Frick scored 14.8 points per game.

Service’s Reece Robinson and West Anchorage’s Chanel Bookert were voted the 4A players of the year.

Contact the Daily Mirror sports department at

2014 Alaska Roof Coatings/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches All-State Basketball Teams

4A Boys

Player of the Year: Reece Robinson, Service

Coach of the Year: Dave Andersen, Kodiak

First team

Reece Robinson, Service; Travon Brackett, West Valley; Damien Fulp, Colony; Desmond Johnson, East; Deandre Wilson, West

Second team

Austin Frick, Kodiak; Alec Canete- Hall, Kodiak; Kyle Carlson, Lathrop; Ihro Raguindin, Service; Matt Seymour, Thunder Mountain

Third team

Jacob Calloway, Thunder Mountain; Daniel Hornbuckle, West Valley; Tyrell Ford, Lathrop; Adam Ramoth, Palmer; Da’Zhon Wyche, West

4A Girls

Player of the Year: Chanel Bookert, West Anchorage

Coach of the Year: Amy Fogle, Kodiak

First team

Chanel Bookert, West; Ruthy Hebard, West Valley; Jerica Nelson, Kodiak; Tara Thompson, Dimond; Hannah Wandersee, Kodiak

Second team

CC Cockerham, West; Faith Farris, Colony; Katelynn Kerkvliet, Soldotna; Taria Page, East; Jayley Taylor, Ketchikan

Third team

Brandy Bookout, Chugiak; Royhn Huss, Dimond; Shayla Johnson, Wasilla; Megan Pyles, Kodiak; Ashley Young, Thunder Mountain

3A Boys

Player of the Year: Scooter Bynum, Monroe Catholic

Coach of the Year: Chuck Boerger, Grace Christian

First team

Scooter Bynum, Monroe; Tyler Eide, Nome; Calvin Hoffman, Anchorage Christian; Theodore Naneng, Bethel; David Stepovich, Monroe

Second team

Eric Johnson Grace Christian; Lawrence Kaleak, Barrow; Immanuel Lopez, Anchorage Christian; Brian Way, Sitka; Tyler Wells, Monroe

Third team

Matt Barron, Houston; Hans Karlberg, Grace Christian; Cass Matthies, Nome; Jalon McCullough, Monroe; Nate Simmers, Anchorage Christian

3A Girls

Player of the Year: Dallas Dickerson, Anchorage Christian

Coach of the Year: Beth Buchanan, Galena

First team

Dallas Dickerson, Anchorage Christian; Shaina Burley, Galena; Jess Reiter, Delta; Mariam Wamsley, Valdez; Taryn White, Mt. Edgecumbe

Second team

Kiana Edwards, Hutchison; Rianna Joseph, Bethel; Angela Miguel, Barrow; Bryn Tennyson, Anchorage Christian; Rachel Thompson, Nikiski

Third team

Tayla Cabana, Homer; Adelaine Ahmasuk, Nome; Alyssa Darch, Nikiski; Ashley VanBorstel, Seward; Savannah Wells, Houston

2A Boys

Player of the Year: Everett Moorcroft, Bristol Bay

Coach of the Year: Bryan Anderson, Bristol Bay

First team

Everett Moorcroft, Bristol Bay; Harold Hoelscher, Hooper Bay; Gage Ivanoff, Unalakleet; Brent Sampson, Glennallen; Tristan Winter, Metlakatla

Second team

Tristan Alexander, Metlakatla; Dawson Matthews, Susitna Valley; Kynan Monroe, Nenana; Brydin Pacheco, Bristol Bay; Cameron Peters, Glennallen

Third team

Lincoln Isaacs, Craig; Morgan Lake, Hooper Bay; Ken Savo, Dillingham; Tristan Ticket, Unalakleet; Dylan Wassily, Dillingham

2A Girls

Player of the Year: Drew Carlos, Dillingham

Coach of the Year: Jim Lorence, Glennallen

First team

Drew Carlos, Dillingham; Arianna Dougall, Glennallen; Eileen Ford, Hooper Bay; Monica Hayward, Metlakatla; Jonisha Wilson, Unalakleet

Second team

Maggie Dinom, Craig; Tierra Schroeder, Dillingham; Edna Standifer, Nenana; Marie Yates, Craig; Roberta Walker, Unalakleet

Third team

Mariah Del Rosa, Nenana; Lake Magdelene, Hooper Bay; Kendall Maslen, Glennallen; Emily Hartley, Susitna Valley; Theresa Wellington-McGilton, Metlekatla

1A Boys

Player of the Year: Tyrus Morgan, Klawock

Coach of the Year: Brent Hostetter, Noatak

First team

Tyrus Morgan, Klawock; Billy Brown, Yakutat; Casey Sherman, Golovin; Timmy Smithwick, Cook Inlet Academy; Ralph Stalker Jr, Noatak

Second team

Jerry Carroll, Fort Yukon; PJ Hamilton, King Cove; Jaruby Nelson, Nikolaevsk; Sam Rew, Klawock; Kalani Russell, Yakutat

Third team

Matthew Bravo, Sand Point; Tristan Brown, Scammon Bay; Franklin Carroll, Fort Yukon; Cylas Okitkun, Stebbins; Edward Wesley, Noatak

1A Girls

Player of the Year: Nianiella Dorvall, Nikolaevsk

Coach of the Year: Bea Klaich, Nikolaevsk

First team

Nianiella Dorvall, Nikolaevsk; Alice Amaktoolik, Golovin; Denise Fernandez, Shishmaref; Nicole Moffis, Cook Inlet Academy; Jessica Rogers, Ninilchik

Second team

Kasia Adams, Yakutat; Sophia Kalugin, Nikolaevsk; Madison Orth, Cook Inlet Academy; Kelly Sam, Huslia; Martha Wells, Kiana

Third team

Zhane Akeya, Savoonga; Macayla Alexander, Minto; Helen Bruns, Brevig Mission; Amber Dennis, St. Mary’s; Ayla Rickteroff, Newhalen

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.