Kodiak’s Special Olympics floor hockey team captured the gold medal at the state winter games Saturday in Anchorage.

The team included Derrick Blondin, David Bradbury, Amy Canavan, Harry Dodge, Aharon Dolph, Robert Feldmeyer, Shannon Feldmeyer, Chris Kavanaugh, Dylan Kavanaugh, Matt Kimmel, Bryon Nixon, Ben Stahlhut, Sam Stahlhut and Chloe Wood.

Kodiak’s Christopher Bullert and Julia Wiley also won gold medals in snowshoeing.

Bullert came in first in the 100-meter race, second in the 50 meters and third in the 25 meters.

Wiley was first in the 25 and third in the 50.

Arne Tveit was second in the 100 and third in the 50.

Kodiak’s Special Olympics now switches its focus to the summer games, which feature basketball and powerlifting.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.