Kodiak Daily Mirror - Kodiak nets five top seeds for NLC tourney
Kodiak nets five top seeds for NLC tourney
by Daily Mirror Staff
Jan 27, 2012 | 63 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Kodiak High School wrestling team practices in the KHS gym Thursday afternoon. Two mats were rolled onto the gym floor Thursday in preparation for the Northern Lights Conference Championships that begin today at 11 a.m. and conclude Saturday with the championship finals at 6:30 p.m. Wasilla, Colony, Palmer, Kenai, Soldotna and Kodiak will battle for the region trophy. The top six placers in each weight class all earn a berth in next week’s state tournament. (Derek Clarkston photo)
view slideshow (3 images)
Five Kodiak High School wrestlers enter the Northern Lights Conference Championships as the top seed.

Andrew Caballa (106), Levi Fried (113), Kevin Lepola (152), Kerry Powers (170) and Charlie Johnson (182) all earned No. 1 seeds for the tournament that begins today at 11 a.m., at Kodiak High School. The tournament concludes Saturday with championship matches at 6:30 p.m. at Kodiak High School.

Wasilla, the defending NLC champions, have six wrestlers ranked first in Abe Fox (120), Nate McKimson (138), Tyler Adams (145), Austin Gonzalez (195), Adam Akelkok (220) and Ryan Pomreke (285).

Palmer, Kenai and Colony each have one top seed.

First-round matches

106 — (1) Andrew Caballa, Kodiak, vs. Wylee Spencer, Colony; Brandon Abbott, Wasilla, vs. Mason Cochran, Palmer; Leo Cruz, Kodiak, vs. Soren Simpson, Colony; Logan Albrect, Wasilla, vs. Hope Steffensen, Kenai.

113 — (1) Levi Fried, Kodiak, vs. Elijah Hall, Wasilla; Donovan Ellibee, Colony, vs. Baile Clifford, Palmer; Andrew Shannon, Wasilla, vs. Jay-Ar Small, Kodiak; Dustin Everitt, Kenai, vs. Wade Booth, Colony.

120 — (1) Abe Fox, Wasilla, vs. Matthew Vandermartin, Colony; Aaron Molesky, Palmer, vs. Shannon Carpenter, Wasilla; Michael Wilson, Kenai, vs. Justin Gents, Palmer; Dane Nardi, Colony, vs. Francis Llorente, Kodiak; Eddy Burris, Kodiak, bye.

126 — (1) Nathaniel Pempek, Palmer, vs. Gabe Burns, Kodiak; Elias Stratton, Palmer, bye; Pat Inglet, Wasilla, vs. Tim Price, Soldotna; Aaron Troxell-Tom, Kenai, bye; Jared Chavez, Soldotna, vs. Napolean Media, Colony; Bryan Sabangan, bye; Tanner Matlock, Wasilla, vs. Spencer Adams, Colony.

132 —(1) Ellery Steffensen, Kenai, vs. Joey Bernowski, Palmer; Kamber Lucas, Colony, bye; Wyatt Nelson, Wasilla, vs. Eli Fouch, Palmer; Blake Marks, Wasilla, vs. Hayden Foster, Kodiak; Gaeden Ames, Soldotna, bye; Marshall Simmons, Colony, vs. Cameron White, Kodiak.

138 — (1) Nate McKimson, Wasilla, bye; Robert Nash, Colony, vs. Kevin Gonzales, Kodiak; Devon Carter, Kenai, vs. Collin Bendixen, Palmer; Hunter Molesky, Palmer, vs. Christopher Ray, Colony; Eli Daman, Soldotna, vs. Justin Goff, Kodiak; Bryce Serna, Wasilla, bye.

145 — (1) Tyler Adams, Wasilla, bye; Riley Fredrickson, Colony, vs. DJ Morrow, Wasilla; Daniel Medina, Palmer, vs. Jeremy Warzewick, Colony; Luke Huen, Palmer, vs. Tamera Ward, Kenai; Reuben Ivanoff, Kodiak, vs. Auston Tennis, Soldotna.

152 — (1) Kevin Lepola, Kodiak, bye; Bill Ashwell, Kenai, vs. Logan Cochran, Palmer; Branden Canete, Kodiak, vs. Christian Lowe, Wasilla; Sawyer Root, Colony, bye; Mitchell Rilatos, Wasilla, vs. Legan Conway, Colony; Brent Nichols, Soldotna, vs. Kyle Hunter, Kenai; AJ Gentz, Palmer, bye.

160 — (1) Simon Root, Colony, vs. Trey Feagin, Kenai; Charles Mincher, Wasilla, bye; Zech Rockstad, Wasilla, vs. Zachariah Doran, Colony; Kade Foust, Soldotna, vs. Elijah Cannon-Rogers, Palmer; Derrek Deal, Kodiak, bye; Matt Aho, Kenai, vs. Josh Yavorsky, Kodiak.

170 —(1) Kerry Powers, Kodiak, bye; Andrew Knowles, Colony, vs. Chris Parsons, Kodiak; Kyle Simmons, Wasilla, vs. Colton Daniels, Colony; Brad Smithwick, Kenai, vs. Hayden Seltenreich, Wasilla; Timber Haselow, Soldotna, vs. Slade Storud, Palmer.

182 — (1) Charlie Johnson, Kodiak, vs. Clarence Ess, Palmer; Seth Root, Colony, vs. Caleb Nielson, Palmer; Alex Fuller, Wasilla, vs. Tyler Brown, Kenai; Billy Schultz, Wasilla, bye; Scott Knighten, Colony, vs. Troy Strieff, Soldotna.

195 — (1) Austin Gonzalez, Wasilla, bye; Jared Briggs, Soldotna, vs. Justin Fallorin, Kodiak; Joel Ryno, Palmer, vs. Ben Button, Palmer; Logan Owens, Kodiak, vs. Cody Sas, Colony; Tyler Seims, Wasilla, vs. Ian MacKenzie, Colony.

220 — (1) Adam Akelkok, Wasilla, bye; Andrew Pettit, Wasilla, vs. Cole Frohling, Palmer; Matthew Olsen, Kodiak, vs. Tucker Bigley, Kodiak; Jake Dragseth, Kenai, vs. Ty Farber, Colony.

285 — (1) Ryan Pomreke, Wasilla, vs. Sean Imof, Wasilla; Leo Sega, Kodiak, vs. Justin Booth, Colony; Mua Sega, Kodiak, vs. Mitchell Daigle, Colony; Kevin Hunter, Kenai, vs. Brian Thompson, Palmer.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The Kodiak Daily Mirror encourages a lively exchange of ideas regarding topics in the news. Users are solely responsible for the content. Please keep it clean, respect others and use the 'report abuse' link when necessary. Read our full user's agreement.
Search Our Marketplace
or Search by category