Kodiak Daily Mirror - Alaska HOF class revealed
Alaska HOF class revealed
by Daily Mirror Staff
Dec 07, 2011 | 15 views | 0 0 comments | 2 2 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bill Spencer and Vern Tejas headline the 2012 Alaska Sports Hall of Fame class announced earlier this week.

Spencer of Anchorage owns both the junior and senior records in Seward’s Mount Marathon race.

He was also a member of the 1988 Winter Olympics cross country ski team.

Tejas of New York was the first person to solo summit Denali, in the winter in 1988.

Overall, he has reached the top of Mt. McKinley 50 times.

Also going into the hall is Juneau’s Gold Medal basketball tournament as an event and the University of Alaska Fairbanks men’s basketball team’s 2002 Top of the World Classic championship.

The Juneau tournament is a 66-year-old tradition that attracts players from around the state each March.

In 2002, the Nanooks, a Division II squad, beat Division I schools Wisconsin-Green Bay, Nebraska and Weber State to claim the title.

“We look forward to adding the new inductees into the hall,” Alaska Sports Hall of Fame president Harlow Robinson said.

The induction ceremony is in February in Anchorage.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The Kodiak Daily Mirror encourages a lively exchange of ideas regarding topics in the news. Users are solely responsible for the content. Please keep it clean, respect others and use the 'report abuse' link when necessary. Read our full user's agreement.
Search Our Marketplace
or Search by category