Fifteen seats on seven elected bodies of the Kodiak Island Borough will be voted on in the upcoming fall election.

Two three-year term seats, currently held by Aaron Griffin and Chris Lynch, on the assembly as well as one one-year term due to a vacancy will be up at the October 6 election.

The KIB School District Board of Education, Bay View Road Service Area Board, Fire Protection Area No. 1 Board, Monashka Bay Road Service Area Board, Service Area No. 1 Board and Womens Bay Service Area Board have two three-year term seats apiece slated for the election.

Fred Roberts and Jim Schauff currently hold the seats on the Bay View board, Rebecca Nelson holds one of the seats on the Fire Protection 1 board and the other seat is vacant, Louise Stutes and Steve Steffensen hold the seats on the Monashka service area board, Paul Hansen and Curtis Howell hold the seats on the Service Area 1 board, and David Conrad and Billy Ecret hold the seats on the Womens Bay board.

Debra Kirk and Robert Foy hold the seats on the school board.

The filing period for interested parties to sign up to run is the same for the borough as it is for the City of Kodiak election, Aug. 1-17.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.