Sen. Gary Stevens and Rep. Mike Chenault on Friday announced their picks for the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission, a new group charged with planning the state’s strategy on Arctic issues.

Chenault and Stevens chose 19 members and three alternates; one member and one alternate remain to be picked by Gov. Sean Parnell.

Representing the Senate on the commission are Sen. Bert Stedman (R-Sitka), Sen. Lyman Hoffman (D-Bethel) and Sen. Cathy Giessel (R-Anchorage). From the House are Rep. Alan Austerman, Rep. Bob Herron (D-Bethel) and Rep. Beth Kerttula (D-Juneau).

The resolution establishing the commission also required members of the public to fill seats representing different sectors of Alaska’s economy.

Pat Pourchot, Reggie Joule, Stephen Trimble, Lisa Pekich, Lawson Brigham, Stephanie Madsen, Chris Hladick, Denise Michels, Nils Andreassen, Layla Hughes, Steve Scalzo, Elizabeth Moore and Peter Garay have also been selected to sit on the commission.

The three alternates selected so far are Kris Norosz of Icicle Seafoods, Sen. Donny Olson (D-Nome) and Rep. Bryce Edgmon (D-Dillingham).

The commission will meet at a later date to organize and over the next two years will meet in Arctic areas of the state to collect information and testimony. The commission has a deadline of Jan. 30, 2014 to present its preliminary recommendations, and it must complete its final report by Jan. 30, 2015.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.