Jay-Ar Small's wrestling season started with an injury and ended atop the podium.

Small, a senior, staked claim to his first state title by defeating Colony's Chace Booth, 3-2, in the 126-pound final at the ASAA/First National Bank Wrestling State Championships Saturday evening at Chugiak High.

Small, last year's state runner-up at 126, scored all of his points in the final minute of the match to win the Bears' only title in three tries.

Booth tallied an escape in the second and led 1-0 heading into the third. Small tied the match with an escape and scored the winning takedown with under 20 seconds left.

Small fractured his right hand in Kodiak's season-opener at the Nikiski duals in early November. He didn't return to action until January.

Seniors Levi Fried and Nolan Wandersee both lost their championship bouts.

Fried was pinned by South's Gavin Alvarado at the 4-minute, 28-second mark in the 132-pound final, while Wandersee fell to Palmer's Ben Button, 9-2, at 220 pounds.

Kodiak's only other placers were Bryan Gonzalez and Russel Dela Cruz. Gonzalez finished fifth at 98 pounds, while Dela Cruz placed sixth at 120.

For the second straight year Kodiak finished fourth with 115 points. Colony snagged the title with 264 points, while South and Wasilla rounded out the top three.


1. Colony, 264; 2. South, 255.5; 3. Wasilla, 227; 4. Kodiak, 115; 5. Lathrop, 111.5; 6. Chugiak, 101; 7. East, 97; 8. Soldotna, 96; 9. Service, 91; 10. Kenai, 89; 11. Palmer, 83.5; 12. North Pole, 82; 13. West Valley, 62; 14. West Anchorage, 61; 15. Eagle River, 29.5; 16. Bartlett, 26; 17. Dimond, 21.5.

Kodiak results


126 pounds — Jay-Ar Small, Kodiak, dec. Chace Booth, Colony, 3-2. 132 — Gavin Alvarado, South, p. Levi Fried, Kodiak, 4:28. 220 — Ben Button, Palmer, dec. Nolan Wandersee, Kodiak, 9-2.

Fifth/Sixth-place match

98 — Bryan Gonzalez, Kod, dec. Kobe Blackwell, Service, 6-3. 120 — Quest Lema, Service, dec. Russel Dela Cruz, Kod, 12-5.

Kodiak non-placers

106 — Yuri Ahn, 0-2. 113 — Jacob Alwert, 2-2; Walter Brewer, 2-2. 126 — Shaun Walton, 2-2. 132 — Scott Larionoff, 2-2. 152 — Hayden Foster, 1-2. 182 — Jacob Ouellette, 2-2. 285 — Jonathan Bates 1-2.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.