The Native Village of Afognak is keeping its current tribal leadership.

On Saturday, NVA held elections in conjunction with its annual meeting. Jim Dunham and Julie Knagin, whose terms were expiring, were each re-elected to three-year terms.

The other members of the council include Loretta Nelson, Meagan Christiansen, Loren Anderson, Mary Fearn and Ken Nelson Jr.

According to the tribal office, Nelson was retained as chairwoman of the council.

The meeting, which lasted about three hours, also included an overview of the tribe’s status, presented by administrator Melissa Borton.

Kari Sherod presented information about the tribe’s latest endeavor, an Alutiiq language research and revitalization program. More information about the program is available at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.